Don’t Ask People ‘What Do You Do For Work?’

Instead ask: ‘What do you enjoy?’

A.J. Bryant
5 min readApr 11, 2024
Photo by Ena Marinkovic: Pexels

Unless you’re a head of state, I don’t care what you do.

It’s the default question in most social situations. Especially when meeting someone for the first time. But it’s overused and boring. It’s easy and comfortable.

Unless you love your job, wouldn’t you rather talk about something you like? Why wouldn’t someone else be similar?

Of course, if someone is passionate about their job, they should share. And when they ask me what I do, I’ll tell them, ‘It’s not interesting, let’s talk about something else.’

Asking a person what they enjoy, increases the likelihood of a deeper conversation.

For example; I love piano. I enjoy playing with LEGO. I’m a voracious reader and love writing. I work out a few times a week. I’m fond of watching movies and almost all sports except for baseball. I relish true crime podcasts. I serve in leadership at my church. I’m a husband and a father to young kids.

None of those activities describe my job.

What I do professionally is monotonous. It’s not challenging to me. It’s not edifying or exciting. I don’t enjoy it. It’s a paycheck and includes great benefits for my family.

--

--

A.J. Bryant

Adopted from Kerala. I write about adoption, my intercultural marriage, contemporary India and more. Prawns are my love language.