A.J. Bryant
Apr 9, 2024

--

Excellent article. My whole family is built on immigration. I was an international adoptee, along with two siblings from India. W were adopted into a family in the USA. Then I met my wife, working in a human rights NGO in India and she immigrated here on a K-1 fiancee visa. My brother met his wife, at a bodega outside of Lesotho, and they immigrated to Canada (where she's from originally) after marriage.

The point about the non replacement level birthrate is another one that doesn't get nearly the press it deserves. That is only going to become more glaring in time and there's zero appetite for discussion of it.

Thanks for writing.

--

--

A.J. Bryant

Adopted from Kerala. I write about adoption, my intercultural marriage, contemporary India and more. Prawns are my love language.