A.J. Bryant
Mar 4, 2024

--

Excellent writing here. I'm actually working on a similar kind of post. Mine's about the experience of going from trusted team member to pariah, in seconds and the humiliation. Which you touched on.

I was terminated by a previous employer three months before the birth of my first child. It was terrifying. Everything about the HR rep and the meeting with the two pages resonated strongly with me. I'm definitely a better person because of it. It opened my life to new possibilities.

But man, did it suck when it happened. Especially because I felt like I had failed my wife. It was Good Friday in 2016. I came home with a box, my wife thought it was baby clothes from my co-workers. When I told her I had been fired, she was incredulous.

Thanks for sharing.

--

--

A.J. Bryant

Adopted from Kerala. I write about adoption, my intercultural marriage, contemporary India and more. Prawns are my love language.