Exploring Adoption Consciousness

Opening the ‘adoption box’ is a personal choice

A.J. Bryant
4 min readFeb 8, 2023
Empty brown box with lid to the side all on a green-yellow background
Photo by Eva Bronzini from Pexels

My two adopted siblings never discuss adoption.

Many people wonder if they are involved in the adoption field like me. Do they speak about it or share their thoughts with non-adopted people? The simple answer is no. Without putting them on the spot or making them feel uncomfortable, they don’t talk about adoption at all. If they do, it’s not with people outside of our family. And that is totally fine.

Adoption is a complex emotional process. Frequently I hear parents ask about their children’s adoption consciousness. More specifically, “when will my child start to explore their adoption as you have?” My answer — I don’t know.

Many adoptees question their adoption and how that fits into their identity as teens. That seems like a natural point in life to begin exploring who they are.

Others, begin unpacking their “adoption box” when they are younger. And don’t have the words to describe their feelings. Some, don’t even look into that box until their late 20’s, 30’s, and older.

There is no right age to begin.

Still, other adoptees have no interest in opening up that box and that’s acceptable.

Parents and Adoption Consciousness

--

--

A.J. Bryant

Adopted from Kerala. I write about adoption, my intercultural marriage, contemporary India and more. Prawns are my love language.