A.J. Bryant
1 min readApr 1, 2024

--

Great article. I'm completely off social media and this is one of the reasons why. I don't need someone to tell me that if I'm not feeding my kids kale salad, or putting them in 100 percent sustainable diapers that I'm a bad parent. I criticize my parenting quite enough on my own, I don't need anyone else's confirmations.

I like telling stories about how I parent as well. I'm with you, I try not to preach. I resent what my family and I are doing. If you like it, great. If not, then it's not for you. I was rasied 100 percent different than my immigrant wife. Somehow we've both turned out alright despite the disparate parenting styles and choices.

Lastly, reading to the kids is a blast. I do it as often as I can. We're going through the Narnia series before bedtime right now. My kids are nearly 8 and 5. If they learn only one thing from me (hopefully it will be more)

it's to love and cherish reading and be voracious learners.

--

--

A.J. Bryant

Adopted from Kerala. I write about adoption, my intercultural marriage, contemporary India and more. Prawns are my love language.