A.J. Bryant
1 min readMay 15, 2021

--

I once had a supervisor who literally would invite everyone on my team to lunch, except for me. She would walk into everyone's office individually and purposely skip me every time. One time, I showed up at the elevator where my co-workers gathered to leave together and she just glared at me and said 'what are you doing here? I was so taken aback I didn't respond and just walked away seething.

She also would also brazenly lie in staff meetings with me present and say I had not been doing my work. Everyone on the team knew that wasn't true, but no one stood up for me.

The last straw was one time I made a mistake, albeit a medium-size screw up and she made me write a letter of apology about my actions and then read it aloud to her and other co-workers during a meeting. It was beyond humiliating and infuriating.

She hated me from the day she came on-board for no reason. She didn't hire me, she was the replacement for my boss that moved on six months after I started the job. I She's by far the worst boss I've ever had.

--

--

A.J. Bryant

Adopted from Kerala. I write about adoption, my intercultural marriage, contemporary India and more. Prawns are my love language.