LEGO Building is Primordially Satisfying

There’s something about building with your hands

A.J. Bryant
3 min readDec 1, 2023
Photo by Dan Burton on Unsplash

Building LEGO is going back to our core human roots.

LEGO are plastic bricks from a Danish company famous and popular across the globe.

Some of you may have played with them in childhood. Others are re-discovering them as parents. Maybe you’ve always loved them and never been without them.

Whether you ever used them, you’ve seen them, read about them, or stepped on them (ouch!)

They are a great tool for young kids to foster creativity and imaginative play. Or a wonderful option for adults to relax and unwind.

Returning to LEGO after a 30-year hiatus, the first set I bought was RMS Titanic. As a Titanic obsessive, I bought an enormous LEGO build of the ship.

Everything about the kit was massive. The 9,000-plus pieces came in 46 numbered bags.

I spent about one month, assembling one bag per evening. It was cathartic, relaxing and restful.

LEGO Titanic has about 1,000 pages of directions. They were not complicated. I had to pay attention. But it wasn’t a mentally taxing exercise.

There was a sense of satisfaction, because I used my brain, and held tactile objects. All to…

--

--

A.J. Bryant

Adopted from Kerala. I write about adoption, my intercultural marriage, contemporary India and more. Prawns are my love language.