My Miscommunication Ruined A Seafood Mac and Cheese

Indirect instructions to friends made it uneatable

A.J. Bryant
3 min readNov 21, 2023
fancy macaroni and cheese on a plate
Photo by Tina Witherspoon on Unsplash

I brought seafood macaroni and cheese to a ‘Friendsgiving.’ It was Instagram gorgeous. And then, it wasn’t.

I splurged. It had lump crab claw meat and two pounds of shrimp. I didn’t skimp on the cheeses either; smoked Gouda and Cheddar, Gruyere, all topped with parmesan butter breadcrumbs.

However, no one enjoyed it.

A series of missteps in hindsight and communication blunders led to an inedible dish.

My wife, Sasmita had a five-hour PRAXIS education exam. That meant that me and the kids needed to be out of our apartment. She needs silence for concentration. And with two kids under seven, that’s impossible if they’re underfoot.

The test began at 1 p.m. But the dinner party began at four p.m.

I texted the host the day before, explaining the situation. I asked permission to drop the mac and cheese off early. I would be with the kids for three hours and didn’t want the casserole sloshing around on my car’s floor.

Here are the mistakes that led to its unappetizing end.

Mistake one: After pulling the casserole out of the oven, I discarded the foil covering the disposable 9 x…

--

--

A.J. Bryant

Adopted from Kerala. I write about adoption, my intercultural marriage, contemporary India and more. Prawns are my love language.