Rings of Power Isn’t Pure Tolkien

If you need unadulterated J.R.R, read the books.

A.J. Bryant
6 min readSep 6, 2023
Lord of the Rings — the golden ring of power written in Elvish, displayed in an open palm
Photo by Ergo Zakki on Unsplash

Nobody is putting a gun to your head to watch the Amazon series.

You aren’t being forced to watch The Rings of Power (RoP). If you don’t like a show, then watch another one. There are dozens of shows released monthly across streaming platforms.

I’m sure you will find something you like. RoP isn’t for everyone and that’s fine.

In our divergent culture, you’d be hard-pressed to find a singular television show that everyone loved, let alone watched. There’s so much negative chatter about the series and it annoys me.

First off, don’t review the show or tell me your opinions unless you’ve at least watched it. Otherwise, your opinion holds no weight. If you have, then feel free to comment on this piece. I’ve watched the entire first season. In a few months, I will re-watch it.

There are three elements to its backlash; Jeff Bezos and Amazon, Game of Thrones (GoT), and this notion of Tolkien purity.

A Tolkien Interpretation

Enjoy the show for what it is, based on Tolkien’s writing, but a stand-alone project.

It was never marketed as a faithful recreation of the books. Not once. It’s based on lore…

--

--

A.J. Bryant

Adopted from Kerala. I write about adoption, my intercultural marriage, contemporary India and more. Prawns are my love language.