Ten Questions to Know Me Better

I’m more than an Indian adoptee

A.J. Bryant
2 min readFeb 28, 2024
Photo by Joel Frank on Unsplash

I just found this writing prompt game from a new follower, so I thought I’d play along.

  1. Do you have a nickname or a shortened version of your name that your friends use to call you? I was called ‘Apple Juice’ in high school. Which eventually shortened to just ‘Juice’. I didn’t love it.
  2. What is your favorite animal? Octopus and walrus. Octopuses are intelligent and beautiful creatures. I could watch them all day. Walruses look goofy and always make me smile.
  3. What is your favorite ice cream flavor? Anything with peanut butter and chocolate. That’s my favorite combination.
  4. If you were a fruit, which one would you be? A pineapple. I’m not sure why, except that it’s my favorite fruit.
  5. What is the color of the shirt you are wearing right now? Purple gingham dress shirt. That’s my favorite shirt color and one of my top colors generally. My closet is full of blue, pink, and purple shirts.
  6. What is the last item you have gifted to someone, and why? A LEGO set. Who doesn’t love LEGO? They’re great for fostering kids' creativity and fun to play with. If you’re an adult you can use it as a wonderful way to de-stress and relax. Depending on the set, they can make unique and cool display pieces for…

--

--

A.J. Bryant

Adopted from Kerala. I write about adoption, my intercultural marriage, contemporary India and more. Prawns are my love language.