‘That’s Not A Box of Baby Clothes. I Was Fired’

The humiliation of losing employment

A.J. Bryant
4 min readApr 3, 2024
man in a dress shirt and tie packing a box in an empty office
Photo by Suwannar Kawila — Canva

One month before the birth of my first child, my job was terminated.

When I left my house at 8 a.m., I was a trusted employee with a great network of colleagues.

By mid-morning, I was a pariah. I never spoke with anyone from my company again.

My company was a contractor for the U.S. Agency for International Development. We had gone through a major upheaval during the previous year and a half. The United States government sued and blacklisted us.

A host of unethical and borderline illegal activities took place before my time. I had survived three rounds of lay-offs. Eventually, I became collateral damage.

The company was rebranding with a new name and leadership.

My role required increased responsibility. I gained greater visibility with senior management. I wasn’t job-hunting while the company was crumbling around me.

Instead, I watched as resignations and downsizing decimated my tight-knit team. But I stayed despite the uncertainty. In retrospect, my loyalty was misplaced.

Surely, they appreciated my strong work ethic and perseverance. They didn’t.

My fate is sealed

--

--

A.J. Bryant

Adopted from Kerala. I write about adoption, my intercultural marriage, contemporary India and more. Prawns are my love language.